Shanghai Stock Exchange

Financial Dictionary -> Investing -> Shanghai Stock Exchange

Located in Shanghai, China, the aptly named Shanghai Stock Exchange (or simply the SSE in its abbreviated form), is the largest stock market exchange operating in China, and the sixth largest in the world in terms of market cap, reporting $3.7 trillion US Dollar joint market capitalization equivalent in 2007, and listing 860 companies on its exchange. In terms of Asian exchanges it is second only to the Tokyo Exchange in Japan, but beats out its rival Exchange in Hong Kong. SSE is not fully open to foreign traders like its counterparts.

The SSE first came in to operation in the latter part of the 1860s trading in securities, with its first share being listed in 1866. It saw a boom shortly after in the late 1880s due to huge investment interest in mining shares. It took its place in its current form in 1929 after a merger between the "Shanghai Securities & Commodities Exchange" and the "Shanghai Chinese Merchant Exchange".

Today the SSE is ran on a not for profit basis by the China Securities Regulatory Commission, and with help from the NYSE, and Deutsche Boerse is implementing the widely used Xetra trading system, to help expansion, increase volume and be on par with other modern exchanges who have moved beyond traditional trading floor methods.

Currently the exchange's trading hours start with a morning pricing session from 9:15 am to 9:25 am, and then a regular trading session from 9:30 am to 11:30 am. There is then a post trade bidding session, starting at 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm. Like most exchanges the SSE does not operate at all on weekends or during several pre-announced holiday periods.

The top three companies listed on the SSE are Petro China, the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China, and Sinopec.